good food for the skin

April 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

Inspiration comes to you at the most random of times.  One morning last week, while stirring my tea, I remembered a cleansing product I had used 20 or so years ago. I liked it because it served many purposes. I wasn’t wild about all the ingredients that I couldn’t pronounce or the crazy price tag, but I liked the way it cleansed and moisturized my face.  With that in mind, I put on my “alchemist’s hat” and decided to create my own version using one of my key ingredients:  ground avocado seed.  The result was Kēlā Mea (Hawaiian for “all things”)  – an “all-in-one” cleansing powder.  Not all my experiments work but this one is a keeper.

Often, folks ask me how I arrive at the products in my skin care line, Luana Naturals.  I tell them that I look to items I enjoy using for inspiration.  I remove all the toxic chemicals and substitute ingredients that are “real food for the skin.”  I especially like to utilize those botanicals and oils that grow well on my farm and come from the Hawaiian islands.  I also give them an eye opening exercise:  Go to your medicine chest and pull out your favorite beauty cream.  Water or “aqua” will be the first ingredient, quickly followed by 3 or 4 petroleum-based products.  After that, it is chemical fragrances and artificial colors and preservatives.  Nowhere can you find an ingredient that translates into good food for the skin.  I believe if you are not willing to put something IN your body, you should not put that something ON your body.  Remember, your skin is your body’s largest organ.  And it is a digestive one.  80% of what you put on goes in and women put more than a dozen products on their skin per day.  How do these work together?  How much byproduct of the gasoline industry can your liver process over time?

The official looking women in the lab coats at the major department stores never told me about this; they talked about “the regime.”  The implication is that you better not even LOOK at the Shiseido counter, for if you mixed products, your face would certainly explode.  Crazy.  But I’m a lotions and potions kind of girl – an easy target for them to spot, for I love beautiful things in beautiful packaging.  My friends here in Hawaii might find this hard to believe, but I’m an expert when it comes to expensive cosmetic lines.

When I made a commitment to be educated about what I eat, by default I had to become educated about what I used on my body.  If you read the labels on a can of soup, you need to read the labels on a package of body wash.  I was heartbroken that my favorite beauty finds were filled with toxins.  Most of the ingredients the cosmetic industry uses have not even been tested to be safe.  The policy is that if there is no known cause of harm, then we can put it in the items we use every day.  That is not good enough for me.  I know what is in my own, organic, avocados.  I know that the fruit, oil, skin, and stone all have important ingredients to benefit my body.  The avocado has been called “Mother Nature’s moisturizer.”  With their healthy fats and phytonutrients, they offer remarkable food both inside the body and out.  So the next time you’re at the mall, skip the cosmetic counter and buy yourself an organic avocado instead.  Eat half right from the shell with a bit of sea salt, fresh pepper, maybe a dash of garlic, and use the other half for a natural facial treatment.  Simply remove your makeup, wash your face, mash the avocado (you can mix in a bit of honey, or milk, or oatmeal) and apply it to your face.  Leave it on for 10 minutes or so and then rinse off with warm water.  Lunch and a facial for a few bucks.  This is information the women in the lab coats do not want you to know.

As for Kēlā Mea, my packaging and label design will evolve over the next few weeks.  When I have it just right, I’ll post it to my website.  For now, I’m sharing my new product at the local farmers markets and enjoying the positive feedback.  Not sure what product will come next but I do know what I’m having for lunch.

Kēlā Mea is an all-in-one facial polish. It is hand-crafted from organic, Hawaiian, avocado seed. Avocado oil, natural witch hazel, and ylang ylang make it the perfect cleanser, exfoliate, toner, and moisturizer - "all things."

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading good food for the skin at Life on a Hawaii Farm.

meta

